top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRodrigo Leon

The last push!

This week was amazing in many ways, I believe it's the week I've worked the hardest, I finished texturing the wings, made a roughness map for everything just so it didn't have the same reflection all over, and even played with Xgen a bit. Given that I'm obviously not an expert groomer since I just started using the tool 4 days ago, I'm quite happy with the result I got, however, I learned that grooming is not something to scoff at when I started learning about it and watching tutorials it was like looking at a deep well where I couldn't see the bottom, it's an incredibly deep area that I would love to explore more in the future.


But without further ado, here's the render that I got, I will further comp it in nuke for next week's presentation but this is it for today's progress entry.



here's the wireframe of the creature as well, it was done on an obj with 2 subdivisions, so all the details and bumps were done with maps, which I must say was very impressive to learn, I never imagined that this was how they managed to make all those creatures or characters you see on movies or games, using a low poly character so the animators can easily move it or lighters, or riggers, or whatever. It would be impossible to use the super high poly character directly from Zbrush.


here are the roughness maps and the grooming guides that were created for it as well.




I will add more renders for the final presentation to showcase all the work that was put into this creature since every render takes quite a long time in order to get the fur and SSS to look decent I need to increase the respective sampling, but see you next week!

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page